SSDs

Help! It's the hair-bear bunch!

Moderator: larchy

Re: SSDs

Postby larchy on Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:15 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Yeah just install it fresh on the new drive, the old one can just stay as it is. You can always back up whatevers on it later and format it to clean it up a bit.

You'll just need to sort the boot order to make sure the system boots off the SSD

Re: SSDs

Postby feign on Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:55 pm

feign
Forum Bicycle
left then right and twist 2, 3
 
Posts: 5369
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:18 am
Location: Out where the tractors be...
I did a new install onto the new SSD, and it was a piece of pee.

Physically, my 2.5" ssd is held in place by a couple of cable ties into a standard 3.5" drive bay and seems fine. As there's no moving parts, it's not as if it;s going to be moving about...

Re: SSDs

Postby Cacker on Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:58 pm

User avatar
Cacker
Site Admin
4th floor ponce
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:01 pm
steamID: Cacker
PSN: Cacker67
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
I hope these are strong titanium cable ties ...
/Chairs

Cacker

Image

Re: SSDs

Postby Tonster on Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:18 pm

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
larchy wrote:
Tonster wrote:
larchy wrote:I'm assuming you're going to put the new drive in and install Windows afresh, and just leave the old one in as a second drive.

Having been reading up on migrating Win 7 to a different drive, but from all I've read it's not worth the trouble, fresh install it is. Only question I have there - is it OK to leave the same Win 7 OS on the old drive but boot from the SSD?


Yeah just install it fresh on the new drive, the old one can just stay as it is. You can always back up whatevers on it later and format it to clean it up a bit.

You'll just need to sort the boot order to make sure the system boots off the SSD

Got myself an 840 Pro 512GB, to hell with the cost :P Just coming back to the above point, if I've got Windows 7 on two drives and am booting off the SSD, if I install something will it install in the active Windows installation or is there a risk of it installing itself in the old one?

Re: SSDs

Postby larchy on Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:25 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Stuff will only install 'into' the copy of the OS that is currently running, if you're talking about registration entries etc. Of course, should you load up the other OS and navigate to whatever it is you installed, it'll probably run fine too.

Previous

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron