Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Help! It's the hair-bear bunch!

Moderator: larchy

Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Pornstar on Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:59 pm

User avatar
Pornstar
Forum Guru
World's Clunge Authority
 
Posts: 1648
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 3:15 pm
Location: Madrid, Scorchio
steamID: porneh
AKA: Pornstar
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Just wondered if anyone had experience and would recommend a Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?
Youth and skill are no match for experience and treachery.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby LSM on Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:47 pm

User avatar
LSM
Forum Bicycle
Lazy Space Monkey
 
Posts: 6337
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 9:12 am
Location: Milton Keynes
steamID: LSM
PSN: messele
AKA: Lt. Sex Machine
Twitter: messele
I've never seen a router/modem with gbit ports built in, I use a seperate switch personally.

.11n was actually finalised a month or two ago after 20 years of being draft or something. I expect there is little difference from the draft though.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby larchy on Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:52 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
There quite a lot of OMFG GIGABIT modem/routers knocking around, although it can be easier to get a separate router anyway just in case you ever need to change modem or switch to cable. Prettymuch every n-draft router is 1000 Base-T.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Cacker on Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:59 pm

User avatar
Cacker
Site Admin
4th floor ponce
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:01 pm
steamID: Cacker
PSN: Cacker67
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
i've got a linksys wrt160n, although i believe you can get a wrt320 which has a higher throughput. mainly because i've used linksys b4 and its easier with kit you know. plus a fair few of the linksys routers (including the wrt160n) take 3rd party firmware like DD-WRT which is what i have and it just pusts manufacturers firmware to shame to tbh.

Atlhough, tbh, if you want high throughput, go ethernet-over-mains. I tried using the wrt160n for streaming HD content ... lolpauses ... laugh .. i nearly went to ethiopia.
In the end i got two devolo 200mbps mains plugs for ~£80 from maplin. plug one in to mains, connect up ethernet cable. plug other one into mains, connect ethernet. thats it. configuration over :P

There's so little config, you can pretty much unplug it .. put it somewhere else and use it there. reconnects in seconds.

streams HD over that without batting an eyelid.
/Chairs

Cacker

Image

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby larchy on Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:26 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
The only issue with the mains LAN is you end up with your PCs on an open network that anyone in your local area can see as it really does propogate that far along the electric infrastructure. They're uncommon enough for it to be quite unlikely anyone in your area has such equipment too, but if anyone does and they are of malicious intent you'll need to guard your PCs well.

The throughput is also quite variable... not sure most people would actually get anywhere near 200Mbps in practice... usually around 80Mbps or so, but YMMV

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby TK421 on Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:26 am

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7295
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
I dont understand why I cant stream 720 over a 100mb network smoothly. The way I figure it, if I can copy the file to my laptop quicker than the length of the film I'm watching, then surely I should be able to stream it? 1080p are even worse, my mbp cant even play them locally without stuttering. I had to buy a 5m hdmi cable to play it from my main pc !

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby LSM on Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:31 am

User avatar
LSM
Forum Bicycle
Lazy Space Monkey
 
Posts: 6337
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 9:12 am
Location: Milton Keynes
steamID: LSM
PSN: messele
AKA: Lt. Sex Machine
Twitter: messele
I don't seem to have any problems of that sort. What software are you using to stream the HD content?

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby TK421 on Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:37 am

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7295
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Files are kept on a W7 Prem normal share, streamed over a 100mb cabled network played on a MBP 2.4ghz 8600GTM using VLC or Quicktime.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby LSM on Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:13 pm

User avatar
LSM
Forum Bicycle
Lazy Space Monkey
 
Posts: 6337
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 9:12 am
Location: Milton Keynes
steamID: LSM
PSN: messele
AKA: Lt. Sex Machine
Twitter: messele
The main difference I can see between our setups is I am using mac to mac where as you are pumping files across the SMB (suck my balls) protocal presumably. I am wondering if there is some big overhead to this that causes inconsistant data transfer? Certainly not a straight bandwidth issue as I can pump this shit across Wi-Fi on a good day.

Unless somebody can think of something else, how about trying something like an FTP link up and seeing if that makes any difference?

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby TK421 on Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:20 pm

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7295
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
It might be a samba issue, I'll look into it.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Cacker on Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:25 am

User avatar
Cacker
Site Admin
4th floor ponce
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:01 pm
steamID: Cacker
PSN: Cacker67
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
I'm streaming from a windows box with no problem.

user error

larch: there's an encrypt button on each device so i'm assuming this at least avoids any 'embarrassing' moments.
/Chairs

Cacker

Image

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby larchy on Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:33 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Yeah but it's not as good as wireless encryption usually (56bit DES they use IIRC) and that's trivial to break these days.

Still, the signal doesn't really go all that far I suppose, and doesn't pass transformers so it's not too big a deal. Probably no less secure than running a wireless network, not that that's saying much.

Some/most of them do MAC filtering I suppose which is probably the easiest way of denying access you don't want.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Pornstar on Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:29 am

User avatar
Pornstar
Forum Guru
World's Clunge Authority
 
Posts: 1648
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 3:15 pm
Location: Madrid, Scorchio
steamID: porneh
AKA: Pornstar
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Thank you for your golden nuggets. I am using Devolo's 200mb ethernet-over-mains and use that for my HTPC and an office pc upstairs to connect to the central pc down here with all the pr0n movies and internetz. I like the technology, its simple and it works. The OMGigabyte N router is really to connect 2 pcs and 1 printer in this office (both pcs have gigabyte ports and muchos downloads) and a laptop. The laptop is wifi G but it can't get a decent signal when i use it upstairs in bed with some lotion and a box of tissues. Hence wifi N is needed. I have bought a wifi N Intel 5300 minicard to swap out the G version in the laptop, only £20.

Follow-up: After hiring an elite team of donkeys to do some intensive research into OMGigabyte routers they handed me the following review of the best-evAr model which has just been released:

Netgear WNDR3700

It beats every other router and has flashes lights and things.

£125 is the cheapest I have found it. What do you think?

Now, does anyone have any experience with a decent ADSL modem (not router/modem) to go on the front end? (No, I don't want the Netgear DM111P. I have heard that it overheats & fries itself).

A picture (for all you weird cat lovers) for your time:

Image
Youth and skill are no match for experience and treachery.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby larchy on Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:27 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Code: Select all
$wrong = array('port', 'router', 'network');

if (preg_match($wrong, $text)) {
     $text = preg_replace('byte', 'bit', $text);
}


FWIW most people just use the ISP supplied modem... there's not really any difference between them.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Klors on Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:46 am

User avatar
Klors
Forum Guru
Would fuck the antichrist
 
Posts: 3971
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:34 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
MAC filtering doesn't really work as any kind of security method. If they're of malicious intent MAC addresses are easy to clone/spoof
Klors Trofobik

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby larchy on Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:00 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Yeah it's less secure than WEP... still an extra obstacle against casual attacks though.

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Klors on Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:50 pm

User avatar
Klors
Forum Guru
Would fuck the antichrist
 
Posts: 3971
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:34 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
Yeah, it'll probably keep bob from next door away.
Klors Trofobik

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby larchy on Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:50 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
I hate that guy

Re: Anyone own a good Draft N Router/Modem with gigabyte ports?

Postby Klors on Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:46 pm

User avatar
Klors
Forum Guru
Would fuck the antichrist
 
Posts: 3971
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:34 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
Well, after what he did to you, who could blame you?
Klors Trofobik


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron