My love for Vista just boiled over...

Help! It's the hair-bear bunch!

Moderator: larchy

My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Thu Jul 30, 2009 10:00 pm

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
In shutting down my PC I accidentally clicked the first circular icon in the Start menu instead of the arrow icon to expand the menu to be able to see the shutdown icon. So my PC goes into good ol' sleep mode. w00t. In sleep mode the monitor goes off and the HDD keeps thrashing around non stop. The only way I know of to get it out of sleep mode is to press reset, which I do. Now when it tries to boot it shows the BIOS screen, then says 'checking NVRAM', then I get a single flashing underscore in the top left corner of the screen. And that's all.

So I've completely buggered my PC by clicking on a start menu icon. Marvellous.

WTF do I do now? Please.

Specs stolen from another thread;
Corsair 520W HX Series Modular Powersupply, ATX, EPS12V, whisper quiet, 5 year warranty
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, S775, 3.0 GHz, 1333MHz FSB, 6MB Cache CPU – Retail
Patriot 2GB DDR2 800Mhz Extreme Performance Memory x2

Samsung 500GB HD501LJ Spinpoint T, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 16MB Hard Disk Drive

Lite-on LH-20A1S-11C LiteOn 20x DVD±R, 8x DVD±DL, DVD+RW x8 / -RW x 6, DVD-RAM x12, SATA, Retail
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit Edition DVD – oem
Asus P5K Premiem PCI-E, SATA 2, ATX Motherboard
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler Intel Celeron (Skt 775), Intel P4(Skt 775), Intel Pentium D

BFG 8800GTS OC 512MB, PCI-E, DDR3, Dual DVI, HDTV out, HDCP Graphics Card

:help:

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby LSM on Thu Jul 30, 2009 10:13 pm

User avatar
LSM
Forum Bicycle
Lazy Space Monkey
 
Posts: 6337
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 9:12 am
Location: Milton Keynes
steamID: LSM
PSN: messele
AKA: Lt. Sex Machine
Twitter: messele
Usual procedure in this situation is to hike to the foothills behind Balmer's house and unload your high velocity rifle Sarah Conner style.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby larchy on Thu Jul 30, 2009 10:23 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Vista sleep mode has been a crapshoot since RTM and hasn't really improved even with SP2. Known issue, very well documented, happens randomly on all modern hardware with signed drivers, MS hasn't resolved things in 2yrs and usually just blames 3rd party drivers.... welcome to Vista.

You can try removing any USB devices (including your mouse - try wake with just the keyboard), check S3 support is set in the BIOS... sacrifice a chicken etc

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Promac on Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:43 pm

Promac
Forum Regular
aka fuck this lark
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:18 pm
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Personally I'd get rid of it altogether - download windows 7 - I don't know how they did it but it's fikzord.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:23 am

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
I'll give the USB unplugging a go. I don't know that my PC is actually stuck in sleep mode though - Something else I have noticed is that I get no beeps at all. Not sure if they happen before or after the NVRAM check but thought it worth mentioning.

Also looking through the BIOS I see both my HDDs listed in the Main screen, but when I go to the boot order list I can only select one of them... the one which doesn't have an OS on it! Knackered HDD?

As for S3 support, I have no idea what that is but it's there twice, once as an option under 'suspend mode - auto, S1 (POS) only, S3 only', or there's 'Repost video on S3 resume - disabled, enabled'. Not sure what I'm supposed to set.

I have tried resetting the BIOS to defaults without success.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby larchy on Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:46 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Enable both State 3 options.

Boot order sounds odd. Can you select both drives from the F8 boot selection menu?

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:06 am

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
I have tried enabling both S3 options and unplugging all USB devices, no difference.

Not sure how I get to the F8 boot menu, I've tried hammering they key throughout the very short boot sequence I now have.

The bootable drive is being detected during the bios boot screen, does show on the BIOS Main screen, but can't be seen as an option on the boot order selection. Hmm.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby DrKazza on Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:28 am

User avatar
DrKazza
Moderator
Pinball Wizard
 
Posts: 7445
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: London, dontcha know
steamID: DrKazza
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
if anyone has a super fast booting pc which flashes past the "Press <del> to enter bios" too quickly then remember that you can press the
PAUSE/BREAK key to pause the screen so that you can see the messages
That's The REVEREND Dr. Kazza to you.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby larchy on Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:29 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
You just press F8 during POST

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Fri Jul 31, 2009 8:54 am

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
Annoyingly I've had to come into work now, I'll try it again when I get home tonight!

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:47 pm

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
larchy wrote:You just press F8 during POST

Worked a treat, was able to select the bootable drive from that menu and have been greeted with Windows \o/

Mucho gracias :bow:

I am wondering if the issue with the bios boot menu is that it can seemingly only list a boot order 3 items deep, so when selcting the boot order it only offers me the first 3 potential boot devices it finds as the main drive is always listed 4th (in other areas) as it's in SATA slot 6. Straws, clutching.

I'm not turning my PC off to see if the fecker will reboot though :P

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby larchy on Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:38 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
You can remove drives from the boot order list to prevent that happening. There is a 'boot devices' list in the P5K menu as well as a priority menu.

For the sake of not having to do that every time the BIOS resets, plugging your OS drive into SATA 1 can give you a quieter life.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:08 pm

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
Ooh I'll have to look for the boot devices menu, missed that one. Having now risked a reboot I have to press F8 to be able to boot to Windows. I'll have a dig for that menu and see if I can get the drive to show as a boot option in the priority menu.

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Tonster on Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:15 pm

User avatar
Tonster
Moderator
Not Twisted, Toothpick or Tuff
 
Posts: 7682
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:36 pm
steamID: MartianLM
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Battle.Net ID: MartianLM#2136
When you know the answer it all seems so damn simple. There was as indicated a HDD priority menu and for some reason the data drive had swapped with the OS drive which meant the OS drive was replaced in the boot priority list.

Simple as that.

Thanks again sir larch, thou hast once again saved this knave from technical purgatory. All hail sir larch :bow:

Re: My love for Vista just boiled over...

Postby Mister666 on Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:44 pm

User avatar
Mister666
Forum Guru
tabard
 
Posts: 2706
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 5:52 pm
Location: Deepest Darkest Yorkshire
steamID: Sixxor
PSN: Sixxor
Xbox Live: Sixxor
AKA: Sixxor/Sixxor666
Twitter: @DonkeyBadger
antispam1: Yes
orientation: No
Battle.Net ID: Sixxor#2147
Whe I built my new PC a few months ago with Vista, one of the first things I did was add a shutdown gadget to the sidebar which just has single click buttons for shutdown, restart and lock.
You still get a confirmation box for shutdown and restart so you won't be shutting it down accidentally, and it's a damn sight better than going through the stupidly organised start menu thing to find the shut down button.


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron