Component reference 08/04/09

Help! It's the hair-bear bunch!

Moderator: larchy

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:37 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
I got the special delivery service, so it needed a signature anyway.

Not sure what the cheaper one is... probably needs to be signed for too though. Think that'd be the case regardless of where you ordered from.


Yeah.... is just in a nondescript plain little brown box not much bigger than the drive. Will easily fit through a letterbox.

Of course if you order it a few days before you get back on the cheaper option you'll have a missed delivery card and can go and pick it straight up from the local PO!

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:44 am

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
I get back on Sunday, so the post office will be closed.

Sod it, I'm ordering it anyways.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:55 am

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Any opinions on the 256GB version Larchy?

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:10 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
It's bigger!


:D


They're not any faster or slower as the controller/cache/data channels are the same, so it's purely a question of what space you need.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby Klors on Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:14 pm

User avatar
Klors
Forum Guru
Would fuck the antichrist
 
Posts: 3970
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:34 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
lol
Klors Trofobik

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:46 am

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Cheeky feck.

I've ordered the 256Gb drive, whats the easiest way of transferring my current install over to the new drive? I'll do a fresh install once my W7 arrives, so I cba to do a clean install now.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:11 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Partition the drive with either Vista or W7 to make sure the partition is aligned correctly (don't ask). Then use acronis (or similar) to copy the OS over onto that partition - don't just let the image utility create/alter the SSD partition as it won't be alignment aware and these units are not alignment-agnostic like the Intel ones.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:14 pm

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
So partition it fully within W7 first and then copy over? Gotcha

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:25 pm

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Is that ACHI and TRIM important larchy? My W7 blue screens on boot if I turn it on.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:40 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Because you haven't installed the AHCI drivers... so you get a STOP when it tries to load the ATA controller drivers.... doh. (assuming you're copying an existing OS over, then changing controller modes... not loading the OS setup with AHCI enabled on a controller like the jmicrons with PATA devices still attached.... which will also do it)


Um, not with these units actually. It's only the latest firmwares that even support it.

Basically the drive will lose about 10% performance once it's been used... probably a month or so, but it depends on the usage pattern.


It's nothing like the Samsung drives that lose about 70% speed.... the Indilinx ones are fine.


Yeah, don't worry about it, not as big a deal with these particular ones as I was thinking. If you don't need hotplug then don't worry about AHCI.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby Cacker on Mon Sep 07, 2009 4:32 pm

User avatar
Cacker
Site Admin
4th floor ponce
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:01 pm
steamID: Cacker
PSN: Cacker67
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
balls. I was planning to put an SSD into my machine when the retail w7 came along.

but i just remembered, after the last bios flash, i now get a "No AHCI BIOS!" message on every boot. so i guess thats a pisser, especially since it's Abit(ten the dust).
/Chairs

Cacker

Image

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Mon Sep 07, 2009 4:50 pm

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Its running nicely, and with my previous install. Dont know if its any faster though, must play some games.

Larchy get arma2!

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Mon Sep 07, 2009 7:49 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
I played the demo and it smelled of wee :(

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:29 am

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Crucial have increased their prices by £40-50 due to demand.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby TK421 on Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:31 am

User avatar
TK421
Site Admin
You're the best thread of 2013
 
Posts: 7294
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: meh
antispam1: No
orientation: Yes
Nopers ....

Thanks for your email. Unfortunately, there was a pricing issue on our website last week which caused this confusion, which I apologise for. This has now amended and the correct price is as below:


The price on the main pages were wrong, and you got the correct[current] price when you got into your checkout (£399+ vat for the 256mb)

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:55 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Oh well, I got my two 128GBs for £225 delivered inc VAT and they're now £255 + delivery, so if it was a pricing error guess I was lucky.


I just figured it was demand since almost all the etailers have been price gouging the indilix drives and the Intel G2s

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby Flomotion on Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:33 pm

Flomotion
Forum Guru
Loud and proud
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 12:53 pm
Location: Switzerland
antispam1: Yes
orientation: No
So which drive would you recommend now Larchy?

Preferably from here: http://www.digitec.ch/ProdukteAuswahl2.aspx?knr=215 (choosing SSD from the rotation speed options).

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:26 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
The only SSDs worth touching are the Intel drives and the Indilinx Barefoot units (the 2nd gen Indilinx controller)

The first gen Intels are still very good, but grab a G2 if you can find stock. Any Intel drive is top notch though.

If you want something cheaper and almost as fast go for a Barefoot drive. On the site you linked to this would include the SuperTalent UltraDrive ME, the Corsair X-series (not the S-series or P-Series, which are Samsung) and the OCZ Vertex drives. Despite the badge on the cover and the enclosure used, all these drives are essentially exactly the same.

Get whatever size your budget can handle. The SuperTalent 128 GB drive looks good value, although personally I'd go for the Corsair X128 since it's hardly much more and I believe Corsair have the longest warranty and best support.

If you can get away with less capacity I'd grab one of the 80GB Intels, even if they are the older model. If you have plenty of cash the 160GB G2 model is peerless.

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby Klors on Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:07 pm

User avatar
Klors
Forum Guru
Would fuck the antichrist
 
Posts: 3970
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:34 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
larchy wrote:Oh well, I got my two 128GBs for £225 delivered inc VAT and they're now £255 + delivery, so if it was a pricing error guess I was lucky.


I just figured it was demand since almost all the etailers have been price gouging the indilix drives and the Intel G2s

Up to £320+ atm...

Scan have the 256gb version for about £450
Klors Trofobik

Re: Component reference 08/04/09

Postby larchy on Mon Oct 26, 2009 3:49 pm

User avatar
larchy
Site Admin
R2 where are you?
 
Posts: 8756
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:48 pm
Location: lalala I can't hear you
steamID: larchy
antispam1: Yes
orientation: Yes
Ouch... has to be more than a 'pricing error'

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron